Arkansas

Voters in Arkansas need to show photo ID to confirm their identity when voting in person.

You must include a copy of a photo ID with your absentee ballot to vote by mail.

These voter ID rules are in addition to the requirements for proving your identity and residency when you register to vote. Learn more

Is out-of-state ID accepted?

No!
You cannot use an ID issued by another state

Is student ID accepted?

Yes!
You can use a student or employee ID from post-high school institutions accredited in Arkansas

Is an expired ID accepted?

Yes!
You can use an expired ID but the expiration date cannot be more than 4 years before the election date

 

 

Arkansas ID Requirements for Voting In Person

ACCEPTABLE PHOTO ID

An ID can be used to vote if it meets all of the following requirements:

  • It shows your name
  • It shows your photo
  • If your ID has an expiration date, it must be unexpired or expired no more than 4 years before the election date
  • It is issued by:
    • United States Federal government
    • State of Arkansas
    • Post-high school institution in Arkansas
    • Administrator of a long-term care or residential care facility that is licensed by Arkansas (must attest the voter is a resident)

Common forms of photo ID that you might be able to use: Arkansas driver’s license, Arkansas State ID, public assistance card, US Passport, Military ID, student or employee ID from college, concealed handgun carry license, voter verification card, student or employee ID from college or university

Frequently Asked Questions

If you are a registered voter and do not have a photo ID that is acceptable for voting, you are eligible to receive a free Arkansas voter verification card.

You can request your card through the Secretary of State’s office or your county clerk. Contact them for an application and a list of the documents you need.

VoteRiders can help you apply for a voter verification card and secure any documents that you need. Get free help now!

You do not need a “REAL ID” to vote in Arkansas.

Your driver’s license or state ID card will show a gold star if it meets REAL ID requirements under federal law.

Get in touch with VoteRiders if you have questions or need free help securing ID.

Registered Arkansas voters must show ID when voting in person.

If you are a registered voter but do not present an acceptable photo ID at the polling place, you may cast a provisional ballot.

For your ballot to count, you must present a valid ID at the county board of election commissioners or the county clerk’s office by 12:00 noon on the Monday following the election.

Get in touch with VoteRiders if you have questions or need free help getting ID.

Check this list of Driver Control offices and their hours of operation on the Arkansas DFA website for the latest information.

You can also access some ID services online.

Arkansas ID Requirements for Voting By Mail

You must include a copy of your photo ID when you return your absentee ballot. Any ID that is valid for voting in person will be accepted.

Frequently Asked Questions

When you apply for an absentee ballot in Arkansas, you need to provide an excuse.

To be eligible: You must be a registered voter and unable to go to your polling place for an acceptable reason.

Other acceptable reasons:

  • You will be “unavoidably” absent from the polling site on Election Day
  • You will be physically unable or too ill to attend the polling place
  • You are a member of Uniformed Services or Merchant Marines (or Spouse/Dependent family member) and away due to active duty or service
  • You are residing in a long-term care or residential facility licensed by the state
  • You are a United States citizen whose permanent residence is in Arkansas but who is temporarily living outside the country

No.

Yes, you must submit a copy of an acceptable photo ID (as listed above for voting in person) with your absentee ballot.

If you fail to do so, in order for your ballot to count, you must present a valid ID at the county board of election commissioners or the county clerk’s office by 12:00 noon on the Monday following the election.

The following voters do not need to submit ID:

  • A member of the Uniformed Services or Merchant Marine who is absent from the county on election day because of active duty or service
  • Their spouse or dependents
  • A resident of a long-term care or residential care facility licensed by the state of Arkansas (must provide documentation from administrator attesting that voter is a resident of the facility)

If you don’t have access to a printer or copy machine: Get free help printing a copy of your ID to send with your absentee ballot.

There is no process to “cure” (fix) your ballot if it is rejected.