Louisiana ID requirements for voting by mail

COVID-19 Advisory: An emergency election plan was approved that allows certain Louisiana voters who meet one of five COVID-19 related excuses, drawn from CDC guidelines or federal legislation, to vote absentee: (1) those at higher risk for COVID-19 due to CDC-identified underlying health issues; (2) those subject to medically necessary quarantines or isolation orders; (3) those advised by a health care provider to self-quarantine; (4) those experiencing COVID-19 symptoms and seeking diagnosis; (5) those caring for certain individuals. These absentee voters must obtain a witness signature on the absentee ballot envelope flap. First-time voters who registered by mail or electronically are permitted to vote absentee for the July and August elections only if they are voting absentee due to one of the five COVID-19 reasons.

If you need a photocopy of your ID to accompany your absentee/vote-by-mail ballot application and do not have access to a copier or printer, click here to learn how we can help.

Who is eligible to request an absentee ballot and vote by mail?

To be qualified to vote absentee, you must be:

  • A student, professor or instructor in higher education, or the spouse/dependent residing with them
  • A member of the clergy assigned outside of your parish of registration, or a spouse/dependent
  • Temporarily absent or expecting to be temporarily absent*
  • Moved more than 100 miles from your Parish after the voter registration books closed
  • In involuntary confinement for mental treatment outside your parish of registration
  • Expecting to be hospitalized on election day
  • Offshore or expecting to be offshore* 
  • Incarcerated or expecting to be incarcerated for a non-felony conviction 
  • Part of Address Confidentiality Program
  • A sequestered juror with jury sequestered*
  • At least 65 years of age
  • Has a physical disability/is homebound/in a nursing or veteran's home or hospital* 

* during the early voting period and on election day

First-time voters

When you register to vote or vote for the first time in a federal election in your state, you must prove who you are:
  • If you register to vote in person, you must show a driver’s license, state ID, or provide the last 4 digits of your social security number (SSN), if you have one.
  • If you registered by mail and did not include your state’s driver’s license number or the last 4 digits of your SSN, you must show an acceptable form of ID (see below) at your polling place.
  • If you apply for an absentee/vote by mail ballot and did not include your state’s driver’s license number or the last 4 digits of your SSN when you registered by mail, you must include a copy of an acceptable ID (see below).

Here is a list of acceptable IDs: Documents that prove who you are

Your state may have other ID requirements for voting in person or for absentee/vote by mail ballot.

Do you need to submit ID with your absentee ballot request?

  • Voters who are disabled/homebound/in a nursing or veteran's home, see Disability Application for Absentee by Mail Ballot for potential ID requirements.
  • If you are a student who is a first-time voter, you must enclose a copy of your student ID or fee bill.
  • If you expect to be hospitalized, you must enclose proof of hospitalization.
  • If you are incarcerated, you must enclose a certification by sheriff.
  • If you are a juror who expects to be sequestered during the early voting period and on election day, you must enclose a certified copy of court order.

First-time voters may need to submit ID – see section above.

Do you need to submit ID with your ballot?

No, but the signature on your mail ballot must match other signatures on file.

Last update: May 18, 2020

Hannah Piercey

Close